Skip to content

What Books Is John Gwynne The Author Of?

  • by

Who Is John Gwynne?

John Gwynne is an award-winning British (but born in Singapore) author of a fantasy series, and also a Viking actor! He was a lecturer and student at Brighton University, he’s been in a rock and roll band, playing double bass, and toured across the USA and even lived in Canada for a while.

He is married and has children (and several pets) living with his family in Eastbourne, East Sussex, operating a small business with his family renovating old furniture.

Gwynne is best known by his “The Faithful and The Fallsen” series, and his “Of Blood and Bone” series. His most recent collection includes The Bloodsworn Saga.

I. Faithful and The Fallen Reading Order

This epic fantasy has its roots in Banished Lands, a place that has a turbulent past, where giants and armies of men were at war and where the ground is smouldering with their blood.

Malice (2012) Malice (2012) Corban observes with envy as boys grow into warriors and learn the art of fighting. He wants to wield his spear and sword to defend his kingdom from the king. But the day is coming very quickly. When he loses the people who he loves will he realize the price of bravery.

Valour (2014) Valour (2014) Banished Lands are ravaged by conflict when the army of the High King Nathair invades the region, threatening all those who oppose his holy campaign. Together with the manipulative queen Rhin of Cambren and her gang, there are only a few who will stand up to Nathair. However, Rhin has her own game and has her sights set at a greater reward…

Ruin (2015) Ruin (2015) Banished Lands are in chaos and war. Corban is being swept away by the waves of conflict. He’s been through a lot, suffered loss of loved ones, and sought refuge from the dark. He will not run further. He has witnessed the face of evil and has decided to make his sights on battling it. But how do he do it?
Wrath (2016) The events are about to reach a crescendo at the Banished Lands, as the conflict reaches new highs. Corban is captured by giant warriors who carry huge bears into the battle. His Warband has split, Corban must make new allies in order to survive. But is he able to join forces with the rival groups of warlike giants? He must in order to counter the threat that Nathair is a symbol of.

II. Of Blood & Bone Series in Order

In the same world that was the setting of Faithful as well as the Fallen group, the follow-up is set 100 years after the events of Wrath.

A Time of Dread (2018) A warrior angel race The Ben-Elim defeated the mighty demon hoard. They now rule the Banished areas, yet their peace is enforced with brutality. To the south of them, the hotheaded Riv is determined to join Ben-Elim’s peacekeeping unit, but she discovers a dangerous secret. To the west giantess Sig is investigating demon sightings and uncovers evidence of an uprising, as well as black magic. In the north, which is snowy, Drem, a trapper discovers mutilated bodies in the forest. It is the work of a predator or something more sinister?

A Time of Blood (2019) As the demon forces grow and expand, they send out a massive force to destroy the power of the angels. Much like heroes of the past, Drem, Riv, and the Bright Star’s soldiers must fight to defend themselves and protect their home. But will the light prevail in the face of darkness?

An Time of Courage (2020) The demon-king Asroth has been released from his iron prison and the entire Banished Lands stands on the edge of being ruled by the demons. With the Ben-Elim damaged and the half-breed being routed, Riv and a handful of companions must discover a way to strike at the forces of demons.

III. Bloodsworn Books in order

Set in a world inspired by Norse filled with mythology, magic and bloody vengeance Bloodsworn can be described as a sweeping fantasy story.

The Shadow of the Gods (2021) The Shadow of the Gods (2021) – It’s been a century since the gods engaged in battle and drove themselves into extinction. Only their bones are left offering the most powerful power to those who are brave enough to search for them. As the echoes of war are heard across the land of Vigrid and beyond, fate follows the path of three heroes: A hunter who is on an adventure that is risky an eminent woman pursuing the glory of battle and a thrall looking for revenge from the mercenaries who are known by the name of Bloodsworn. The three of them will decide the destiny of the world continues to fall in the shadow of gods.

“The Hunger of the Gods (2022) Lik-Rifa is the mythical dragon god was released from her forever incarceration. She is now planning the beginning of a new era of blood and destruction. While Orka continues to search for her missing son the Bloodsworn move south in a desperate attempt to rescue one of their own. Varg begins the first steps in the direction of revenge. Elvar has pledged to honor her blood oath by rescuing an inmate from the clutches of Lik Rifa and her dragon-born followers However, first she must convince the Battle-Grim to join her. However, even the strength of Bloodsworn and Battle-Grim are not able to compete against the dragon god.